Introduction to Kootenai County


Kootenai County is located in northern Idaho, an area known as the Panhandle, surrounded by scenic mountains and more than twenty pristine lakes-an outdoor enthusiast's dream. The largest city and county seat is located in beautiful Coeur d'Alene and is on the majestic shores of Lake Coeur d'Alene. The county is 1,310 square miles, including 70 square miles of water, and 245,000 acres of national forest and 33,000 acres of state timberland. Kootenai County is a destination location for regional, national and international travelers; hence, the seasonal population increase is well beyond the local population of 138,494 (2010 Census).

Recreational Activities

Recreational activities include:

  • Bicycling
  • Boating
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Hunting
  • Snow Skiing


Kootenai County also contains attractions such as Silverwood Theme Park, Lake Pend Oreille, Farragut State Park, and Cataldo Mission, Idaho's oldest building. These attractions, recreation, and tourism are important elements of the local economy. Other important industries include:

  • Construction
  • Education
  • Healthcare
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Professional Services
  • Skilled Trades


Kootenai County provides:

  • 911 Service
  • Adult and Juvenile Probation
  • Ambulance Service
  • Cultural and Historical Support
  • Emergency Management
  • Jail and Juvenile Detention Facilities
  • Judicial Systems
  • Law Enforcement
  • Noxious Weed Control
  • Parks and Recreation (Including Bicycling, Boating, and Snowmobile Facilities)
  • Regional Airport

Additional County Services

The county also provides general services such as:

  • Administration of the Property Tax System
  • Code Enforcement
  • Driver and Vehicle Licensing
  • Managing Federal, State and Local Elections
  • Planning and Zoning
  • Recording of Deeds and Legal Documents

Collection & Distribution of Property Tax

The collection and distribution of property tax for all taxing districts within the county is also managed by Kootenai County. The districts include:

Solid Waste

The County also provides for the disposal of solid waste through the development and maintenance of two solid waste transfer stations and a landfill. This operation is a self-supporting facility, managed as an enterprise fund.